Fashion Week!

17/09/2012 § 4 Comments

(Topshop belt, Allabouteve top, Zara blazer, Ray-Ban sunglasses, Myer hat)

The week before last Melbourne Spring Fashion Week (MSFW) officially sprung into action at City Square where the David Jones runway showcased a range of the most delectable upcoming trends for spring racing this year. Featuring some of my personal favourite labels including Lover, Camilla and Marc and Zimmerman, the runway burst into action with eye-catching vibrant and pastel hues. Amongst a parade of colour blocking and floral prints, sleek and chic pantsuits and The Great Gatsby inspired cloche hats also appeared to be standout-styles for this season’s races. Whilst the entire show may have been a little bit of a tease, (OK that is a total understatement as I currently want to purchase all of the garments…and the accessories…oh and the shoes) the spectacular display of designs gave me just the insight I needed for when I start to browse for my very own spring races outfit…stay tuned!

The hosts: Jesinta Campbell & Emma Freedman 

(Camilla & Marc jacket with peppermint dress and Nerida Winter nude headpiece)(Tony Biano heels, Witchery floor-length skirt, Bardot blazer, FCUK top, Kate Hill clutch bag)                                                                                                                                  Fortunately my fashion week experiences weren’t just limited to the free events and workshops open to the public at the fashion hub in City Square. I had also purchased tickets to MSFW designer series runway 2 featuring designs from Alice Euphemia, Arthur Galan AG, Carly Hunter, LIFEwithBIRD, Jayson Brunsdon, Manning Cartell, Thurley and YB J’aime by Yeojin Bae. The whole of Melbourne Town Hall was illuminated with glamour as fellow fashion lovers were guided to their seats, the audience itself buzzing with flamboyant expressions of personal style. I couldn’t help but feel awe-stricken as the models strutted down the catwalk in time to the booming bass-line draped in the likes of chiffon shirts, leather shorts, laced frocks and prominent prints. Each ensemble accentuated the statuesque figures of the models, with curve enhancing fittings while bright neon colours and metallic shades also proved to be popular in almost all of the collections. I could certainly say that the night was a thrilling fashion-focused escape from reality that left me wanting more…(Fashion Designer Runway 2  ft. Alexia Petsinis)                                                    …and luckily for me I actually won tickets to the designer series runway 4 with the mX style snaps competition! As exciting as this was, unfortunately due to prior commitments I couldn’t actually attend that particular runway (road trip…woo!) although my sister was more than happy to take my place. Although it turned out that the board of directors on the MSFW team liked the photo I sent in so much (flash back to my outfit featuring in Wild Side) that I was also chosen as one of the finalists to be featured in mX newspaper. So if you happened to pick up a copy at the train station last Friday, you may just have flicked past me? But of course my thanks go out to my dear friend Bec for being such an exceptional photographer. Ex to the oh, love to the you! 

Photography by Rebecca Colquhoun

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Fashion Week!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fashion Week! at mogscottstyle.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

